A Brief Timeline of Symptoms

 

Hello! I just wanted to give you all a little summary of the events that led up to this place. After 15 years in Los Angeles, I had moved back to Texas to take a break and figure out what the hell was next with my life. I had a brother in Austin with two kids and I just wanted to be Aunt Amy for a while. It was around this time (2010) that I noticed my periods had become so heavy I couldn’t even make it through an hour (super plus tampon and full pad) without soiling myself. I would teach a yoga class for one hour and would be running to the bathroom immediately following. A few times I almost fainted…and I became severely anemic.

At the time I didn’t have insurance so I didn’t see a doctor until 2012. An Ultrasound showed that I had 3 Uterine fibroids that weren’t terribly big. We would watch them and in the meantime I had an IUD (Mirena) put in. The Mirena IUD is made of plastic (as opposed to the copper kind) and it emits the tiniest amount of progesterone which controls the bleeding. That part was an incredible relief. But I will say, almost immediately I had weird joint issues, mainly in my hip flexors. I would be standing there and out of nowhere I would get this crazy pain that would make me buckle over. So embarrassing. Also, I would get the craziest rush of water as discharge. Gross right? Sorry, but I have to share. The worst symptom, however, is the low grade depression. I have NEVER been a depressed person! Always hopeful and productive and full of ideas and action. Since making my film, North Blvd, I have been so unproductive, feeling hopeless and generally foggy. I started to connect the dots. A lot of women have no issues with IUD’s but I am not one of those women. I think they are best for younger women. But when over half of women over the age of 40 have uterine fibroids, things can go wrong- in my case, the fibroids grew and basically pulled the IUD deeper into my Uterus.

Anyway, I hope you find this helpful and feel free to comment and ask questions. Have a good day.

Love,

Amy

A Brief Timeline of Symptoms

Leave a Reply

